21
Jan
08

2mm Difference….

2MM 

2mm is not very big… is it? 

But the impact it can have is!

When people want to be successful, in life, business, poker, investing, relationships, loosing weight etc. etc., they often think that there is a big magic secret to success, in reality the secret to success is usually the very small simple things.

Tony Robbins uses this example when he differentiates between someone who is “good” and someone who is “excellent”.  2mm makes a massive difference when it comes to results.  For example if you where a pilot and you started off course by 2mm, you will end up miles away from your destination!  In the pursuit of beauty many people go “under the knife”, but many cases all they require is about a 2mm change to become “perfect”.

2mm makes a big difference in everything.

In business, the simplest things can mean the difference between having a failing business, a good business, or an excellent business.  For example, customer service, after sales, image, etc. etc.  All these simple things will define the success of your business.  In my business www.zenrec.netI continuously aim to focus on the simple things, and ensure that continuous improvement is evident.

I just watched a Jamie Oliver TV programme called “Eat to save your life” shown on channel 4.  In one point of the show, they looked at what one girl ate on an average day, and calculated how this would impact her weight, if she continued to eat this way, in 15 months she would put on 3 stone (42 pounds).  To prevent this from happening, she needed to cut out one latte and one packet of crisps a day.  A small difference on a daily basis, a 2mm difference, but in the long term, the result was very significant.

On the subject of chefs, what makes the difference for a chef’s restaurant to receive a michelin star?  The difference is 2mm. It’s knowing and applying the very small differences to the dish, that the “good” chefs don’t do.

Many people buy shares and hope to make some money, but they don’t educate themselves on the simple things they can do to generate more money from their shares, like writing covered calls.  Writing covered calls is a small simple thing that anyone can do, but the results on ROI, can be very significant.

In relationships, it is often the simple things that count.  Being thoughtful on a daily basis, well make for a much better relationship, than doing something extravagant once in a blue moon! A smile, a kind word, a kind action, all impact the way we interact with people, and how people perceive us. 

Do you ever look at the big poker stars and think… “What do they do, that I don’t do?”

I know I often think this, and I used to think there must be something significant that I am missing!! But when you watch the big poker stars playing on TV, they don’t reveal any amazing secrets, in-fact, many “good” players would play the hands the same way as the poker stars.

The difference in success in poker, as in life, is 2mm. It’s the small simple things that make the big difference.

If you are a good poker player, and you want to be an excellent poker player, there probably isn’t much you need to do differently. The hard part is finding out what the 2mm differences are!

2mm differences can come in all sorts of ways, the cards you play, the moves you make, how much you raise, how you use your position, how often you re-raise, your focus, your ability to read your opponents, how you play a big stack, how you play a short stack, etc. etc. 

I am not an excellent player, so I don’t have the answers to what the 2mm differences are in all these areas, but I think the only way to find out what the 2mm differences are is to get with the people who do know!

What ever you want to be excellent at, you need to find someone who is excellent at it, and learn from them.  Its a much faster way than trial and error. 

If you want to loose weight, find someone who has lost weight and kept it off, and find out what they did.  If you want to stop smoking, find someone who stopped smoking and find out what they did.  If you want to have a successful business, find someone who built up a successful empire and find out what they did.  If you want to be a successful investor, find someone who has made millions on trading stocks, and find out what they did!

Now not everyone has access to their own pokerstar, so I the next best thing is to source out a successful professional player who is better than you and find out how they got to the level they are at.  I also think www.cardrunners.com is a great site for learning from the pros, it has a library of videos that you can watch for every type of poker game, and see how the pros analyse every hand and why they make their decisions.

Whatever you want to be successful at, I think trying to figure it out yourself, is much to slow a process, get with the people who know and learn from them!  And if any of you know any 2mm differences… please let me know! 😉

Julz

x


5 Responses to “2mm Difference….”


  1. January 21, 2008 at 8:23 am

    You keep coming up with the great advice!

    You know, with poker though the thing that gets me is what IS the method to seek the 2mm. When I talk to players, they seem to guard the secret of HOW they learn rather than WHAT they know much more carefully.

    I’m still searching for that method that will work for me. Another good inspirational post though Julz!

  2. January 21, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Hey! If you find out the 2mm secret then let me know! I know it can be frustrating trying to find out the 2mm differences that make the big difference. I know I am improving my game, but sometimes I go through a plateau and don’t feel like I am improving, and I just want to know the answers now!!! I don’t even know if some players know what their 2mm are, maybe its just something they do without even thinking about it and thats why they dont tell. I have got an idea for about 3 more posts writing this! lol Thanks again for checking in! I really appreciate your feedback.
    Julz
    x

  3. February 19, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Good post!

    I just did a post on gambling…not sure how many Christians even care.

    Cheers.

  4. February 26, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Hi Julz,

    I just came across your site from googling ‘2mm Tony Robbins’. I’ve just attended the 4 day seminar he did at the Excel in London and am today resting (it was intense!) and preparing for my return to work tomorrow – I also run a recruitment business, specific to post production in TV.

    Taking the seminar crystalised many of the lessons I’ve learnt in building my business. One of the most significant though it that it really is true; 2mm makes the difference between the ordinary and creating something outstanding. It’s that little extra drive that pushes you to seize the glimmer of opportunity and turn it into a reality, time and time again. And when you don’t give that push, you know you’re being complacent and the consequence is that you lose out.

    That tiny bit extra; 2mm is so small and simple, yet it makes the world of difference in what we learn, achieve and experience in life – not just sometimes, but always.

    Well done on this great blog, I’ll be sure to check in again.

    Best, Irantzu

  5. 5 CJ
    November 22, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Howsit going. I like your blog. I especially like how in-depth you go into the parallels between poker and life strategy. Very cool.


Leave a comment


January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Months